miércoles, 11 de julio de 2012

TnT - Back On The Road 7'' 1984 (Hard Rock) UK

Margate, Kent based NWOBHM/Hard Rock outfit TNT were originally formed as a trio in 1981. Having expanded to become a quintet, they recorded a three song demo tape in 1982 titled "1st Demo", and later in the year a further three song tape emerged, the imaginatively titled "2nd Demo", which brought them to the attention of Ebony Records who invited them to contribute a song to an upcoming compilation album.
The album in question, "Metal Warriors", was released in 1983 and featured the TNT song "Sorry". 1983 also saw the band record a session for BBC Radio One's "Friday Rock Show", which led to them signing a deal with Newcastle's Neat Records. In early 1984 TNT's sole official release, the "Back On The Road", 7" single was issued through Neat, and although receiving some encouraging reviews, the band were soon without vocalist Mark Smith who quit the band. Replacing Smith with former STAG vocalist Gary Owen, the band were then threatened with legal action by Phonogram Records over the TNT name, as that label had just signed the Norwegian band of the same name.
Changing their name to SWEET CHEATER the group set about writing new material which incorporated some of the Glam influence of bands like THE SWEET into their sound. With the new name, vocalist and sound in place, the band recorded an EP called "Desire And Lust" in late 1984 and relocated to London in 1985. Despite recording an albums worth of new material under the guidance of ex-GILLAN member John McCoy, the band struggled to garner any record label interest, so Sweet Cheater split up.
Following this disappointment, in 1987 guitarist Colin "Curly" French and vocalist Gary Owen accepted an invitation to join German band VAN STRAATEN, and toured Germany extensively during the year, both returning to the UK at the end of '87 when no record deal was forthcoming.
Owen and "Curly" then formed a new band called GUNSLINGER, recording a four self titled song EP with ex-GILLAN guitarist Bernie Torme producing, which was released in early 1988, just before Owen decided to leave to join TORME for the "Demolition Ball" album.
Replacing Owen with new singer Marc Huckle, the band changed their name to LYNX and recorded the 1988 "Caught In The Act" 7" for Humming Bird Records. Thisband was also to be short-lived and they disbanded before the years end.

01. Back On The Road
02. Rockin' The Night

Mark Smith - Vocals
Gary Stevenson - Guitar
Nick Williams - Bass
Mark "Nobby" Brett - Drums

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario